Decision Makers

The decision is made by Cheshire East’s Strategic Planning Board, a committee of elected councillors.  The Board receives a recommendation on whether to approve or reject from the planning officer responsible for the case. They don’t have to follow the recommendation, but they do have to make their decisison based on solid planning grounds.

Strategic Planning Board members

Harold Davenport, Disley, Conservative (Chair)

*Rachel Bailey, Audlem, Conservative

John Hammond, Haslington, Conservative

David Brown, Congleton East, Conservative

Peter Mason, Congleton East, Conservative

George Walton, Chelford, Conservative

Steve Wilkinson, High Legh, Conservative

John Wray, Brereton, Conservative

Philip Hoyland, Poynton West & Adlington, Conservative

Paul Edwards, Middlewich, Independent

Brendan Murphy, Macclesfield Tytherington, Independent

Janet Jackson, Macclesfield Central, Labour

Chris Thorley, Crewe East, Labour

*Derek Hough, Alsager, Liberal Democrat

David Newton, Crewe East, Labour (reserve)

*Rachel Bailey and Derek Hough also sit on the Cabinet, the group which agreed the deal with the developers.

Board members are not allowed to engage with lobbyists in case they are percieved as having predetermined their view before all evidence has been put to them.  They can, however, receive information.

View contact details for committee members



  • RSS
  • Facebook
  • Twitter